Am I a Prima Donna or a Software Craftsman?

I recently did a podcast with David Rael on his show Developer on Fire. While on his show, he asked me a question regarding my professional persona. I responded to his question by stating that every single morning that I wake up, I can’t help but wonder if I’m really a software craftsman. Hence, I have reason to believe that I may have more in common with the Prima Donna.

The episode that I’m on will air sometime next week. But until it does, I have some questions for the viewers of this blog:

  • What really is a Prima Donna?
  • Can a developer be both a Prima Donna and a Software Craftsman?
  • What really is the difference between the two?
  • Do software craftsman typically evolve (or devolve) into Prima Donnas?

Please provide your thoughts on the comment section below:

Leave a Reply

